top of page

some may still know franziska from days gone by...

When acquaintances were made while waiting for one of the communal bathrooms to become vacant.

When the hot water in the shower had to be activated by coin-operated machine.

When the Jäger Lounge was a living room, in which you watched the Olympics together with grandma Franziska.

a house with history

Since even the very best guesthouse cannot be preserved eternally, it has now fallen to the 3rd generation to renovate the building. And since a renovation after many years of conservation is not a project to be completed quickly, we had enough time during the 14 months of building to let our visions for a special holiday residence mature and also for the most part implement it ourselves.

PS: the sinks with hot and cold water in the rooms of the Franziska are being replaced with showers and WCs. The friendships and flings that came about waiting for a vacant WC you will now have to look for somewhere else, maybe while enjoying a drink in the Franziska Rooftop!

web_franziska_2023_DSC01286_25(c)karinpasterer.com.jpg

grand PENSION franziska

For long (very long!) we racked our brains to find a suitable categorisation for the former “Pension Franziska”. Too hip, too offbeat, too old-fashioned, too wannabe... No category seemed suitable. The typical austrian “Frühstückspension” (= B&B) is a dying breed and is being automatically transformed into “boutique hotels”, “residences” and “B&Bs”. We think that’s a pity. Because we would really prefer for the Franziska to still be a Frühstückspension.

A Pension, in which you feel at home just like at grandma’s, but with more zeitgeist. A Pension that is cozy, but stylish. A Pension with selected design elements, but where you can still put your feet up with a good conscience. Our personal reinterpretation of a Frühstückspension, a “Grand” Pension.

So. Welcome to the Grand Pension Franziska!

web_franziska_2023_DSC01286_25(c)karinpasterer.com.jpg
IMG-20220716-WA0011 (002).jpg

craftmanship & DESIGN

the product of creative minds

The Schwarzenbacher family has always been closely linked with craftsmanship, and so it was clear that the Franziska would not become a cookie-cutter building. From the roof to the balconies, metal constructions, glass building components, furniture and design elements all the way to marketing, the Franziska was planned and built by ourselves.

Since Evy and Ludwig complement each other well in passion and talent, creature comforts and indulgence are given great importance and the Franziska has a green rooftop as its centrepiece and living room of the house.

In the course of the renovation work, we ourselves became construction workers and admittedly, there was more swearing than ever, but after a year of construction time we can now look at an impressive repertoire of new skills.

We are proud to have realised our vision really well. Sustainable and, above all, GENUINE, uncompromising in quality and comfortable with character. An Open House for all of you.

bottom of page

top of page

VIELLEICHT KENNEN EINIGE DIE FRANZISKA NOCH AUS den GUTEN ALTEN TAGEN...

Als man noch Bekanntschaften schloss, während man darauf wartete, dass eines der Gemeinschaftsbäder frei wurde.

Als das Warmwasser in der Dusche noch mit Münzautomat aktiviert werden musste.

Als die Jägerlounge noch ein Wohnzimmer war, in dem man gemeinsam mit Oma Franziska Olympia schaute.

ein haus mit geschichte

Nachdem auch die beste Erlebnispension nicht auf ewig konserviert werden kann, ist uns nun in 3. Generation die Aufgabe zugefallen, das Haus zu renovieren. Und nachdem eine Renovierung nach jahrelanger Konservierung kein Projekt von kurzer Dauer ist, hatten wir in den 14 Monaten Bauphase genügend Zeit, um unsere Visionen für ein besonderes Urlaubsdomizil reifen zu lassen.

PS: Die Waschbecken mit Kalt- und Warmwasser in den Zimmern der Franziska wurden übrigens durch Duschen und WCs ergänzt. Die Freundschaften und Liebschaften, die beim Warten auf ein freies WC entstanden sind, müsst ihr jetzt wo anders suchen, vielleicht bei einem Drink im Franziska Rooftop!

web_franziska_2023_DSC01286_25(c)karinpasterer.com.jpg

grand PENSION franziska

Lange haben wir uns über eine passende Kategorisierung die Köpfe zerbrochen. Zu hip, zu abgehoben, zu „altfatrisch“, zu "möchtegern" … Keine Kategorie schien passend. Frühstückspensionen sterben aus und werden automatisch transformiert in „Boutiquehotels“, „Residenzen“ und „B&Bs“. Schade, finden wir. Denn am liebsten wollen wir die Franziska noch immer eine Frühstückspension sein lassen.

Eine Frühstückspension, in der man sich fühlt wie bei Oma daheim, aber mit Zeitgeist. In der es gemütlich ist, aber stilvoll. In der Design sich wie ein roter Faden durch alle Bereiche zieht, man aber trotzdem ohne schlechtem Gewissen die Füße hochlegen kann. Unsere persönliche Neuinterpretation einer Frühstückspension, eine „Grand“ Pension.

web_franziska_2023_DSC01286_25(c)karinpasterer.com.jpg
IMG-20220716-WA0011 (002).jpg

HANDWERK & DESIGN

das produkt kreativer köpfe

Seit jeher ist die Familie Schwarzenbacher mit Handwerk eng verbunden und so war klar, dass die Franziska kein Haus aus einem Katalog sein wird. Vom Dach über die Balkone, Metallkonstruktionen, Glasbauteile, Möbel und Designelemente wurde die Franziska selbst geplant und gebaut. Da sich Evy und Ludwig in Talent und Leidenschaft gut ergänzen, werden Gemütlichkeit und Genuss ganz großgeschrieben und die Franziska verfügt über ein grünes Rooftop als Herzstück und Wohnzimmer des Hauses. 

Im Prozess der Renovierungsarbeiten wurden wir selbst zu Bauarbeitern und Handwerkern. Zugegeben, die Palette an Schimpfwörtern war groß, wir können aber nach einem Jahr Bauzeit auf ein eindrucksvolles Repertoire neuer Fähigkeiten blicken. 

Wir sind stolz, unsere Vision ganz gut verwirklicht zu haben. Nachhaltig und vor allem echt, kompromisslos in Qualität und gemütlich mit Charakter. 

bottom of page